Skip to content

Musical Chairs

April 23, 2013

Good news. I’ve finally ordered Steven his new sofa.

I picked up a catalogue from our local store (I didn’t want to run the risk of Steven trying out several sofas for size in-store) and brought it home to show Steven.

The sofas have all got female names: Chloe, Marigold, Bronwyn, Fenella. Normal names but carrying a slightly saucy ring when applied to a sofa.

After three minutes of browsing, guess which one Steven plumped for?…….. A Lola.

Nothing to do with the smooth upholstery; the firm springs; the delightful selection of colours.

No, he chose a Lola, so we can sing: “Her name was Lola. She was a showgirl……”

Have I set myself up for years of agony, where everytime someone sits down on the sofa, Steven gets them to sing a quick chorus of Barry Manilow?

“Life in The Neary Household – The Musical”, will shortly be coming to a theatre near you.

From → Social Care

5 Comments
  1. TimF permalink

    “The sofas have all got female names: Chloe, Marigold, Bronwyn, Fenella. Normal names but carrying a slightly saucy ring when applied to a sofa”. Mmm, Says quite a lot about you as a statement in itself Mark, anything you’d like to share?

  2. Well Tim F, as you jolly well know, I once spent a filthy fortnight in Frinton on Sea with Fenella Fielding. That memoery may have been triggered as I tried out the roomy Lola this morning. By the way, she comes with detachable arms.

    • timf permalink

      If sofas could speak. Gives a new meaning to ‘memory foam’ I once had a brief flirtation with a chair called fflejdi. Been too embarrassed to visit IKEA since. I thought she was a right little rocker but then a coffee table warned me saying she had a reputation for being a bit of a birch!

  3. timf permalink

    If sofas could speak. Gives a new meaning to ‘memory foam’ I once had a brief flirtation with a chair called fflejdi. Been too embarrassed to visit IKEA since. I thought she was a right little rocker but then a coffee table warned me saying she had a reputation for being a bit of a birch!

  4. I’ve given up on IKEA. Do you know, you could walk the length and breadth of IKEA and not find a decent sprout. Shameful.

Leave a Reply

