Skip to content

It’s A “Thing” Word

September 3, 2014

Steven doesn’t really do adjectives.

He has a couple. “Massive” is one. As in “Steven’s done a massive blow off” or “Meat Loaf’s got a massive belly”.

The other one is: “a little bit”. As in “Steven’s done a little bit blow off”, or “Got a little bit silly head on today”.

Now we can add a third. The other day whilst listening to Phil Collins singing a Groovy Kind of Love, Steven asked:

“Dad, groovy is a ……..?”

“Ummm. Groovy is a…..”

“Groovy is a thing?”

“Groovy means great. Or fantastic. Or excellent”.

“Woody’s got a groovy hat?”

“Yeah. That’s what groovy means”

“Paul Heaton does groovy singing?”

“Yeah. That’s groovy as well”.

So, in the Cowley house, it’s become the word of the summer.

Yesterday, I got home from work and Steven told me about his afternoon. He had been watching a 4 hour video of Graham Norton presenting the 100 Greatest Number One hits of all time.

“That was a massive video Steve”

“It was a massive, groovy video Dad”.

You wait 24 years for an adjective and then two come along at once.

From → Social Care

7 Comments
  1. Emily permalink

    I love this blog. Unless you live this life you don’t realise these small ‘things’ are ‘massive’.

  2. Louise permalink

    I loved reading this post this morning. Really made me smile. It’s so nice to start the day on a positive happy note before commencing battle with the “suits” 🙂

  3. meg permalink

    Massively groovy! I’ve been supporting a chap for 6 years who has moderate LD and social phobia among other mental health issues. After 6 years of discussion, preparation and many false starts he has recently joined a ‘build confidence’ peer support group and the local Sunday Assembly (press call it an atheist church but it’s so much more).
    Sometimes, usually totally unexpectedly the adults I support just blow me away with their guts and determination. Sometimes it might be a sudden insight or level of understanding of a particular situation far beyond what ‘experts’ have labelled them capable of. Other times it’s a small kind word or deed they do I hadn’t thought they would even consider. Or it might be a joke they tell or a task they mastered. It’s often a thankless, trying, exhausting job but every day I see some small and occasionally huge surprises. All of them are amazing, just like all the adults I support!

  4. Elspeth permalink

    This was such a wonderful blog, such little steps but worth everything.

  5. Surely “sill” counts as another adjective! I’ve been following your blog for some time now and find it both touching and sad. It makes me angry the way you and Stephen have been treated by Social Services (the SS!). I have a client that was sent to Winterbourne View, and then moved to a home which is currently going though the courts (possibly a bigger case than WV). Fortunately he has a good place to live now, where he is respected and treated with dignity, but there is huge amount of trauma to deal with. I’ve been telling my colleagues and client’s carers to look at your blog – it may encourage them to not give up fighting for the rights of their grown up children. Keep going Mark!

    • meg permalink

      I can only agree with Henry. It is heartening to see so many parents posting support on here as well as we in the industry. It is distressing when I hear of yet another scandal of poor and/or abusive practice but good that at last such places are being found and weeded out. The callousness of ‘the system’ takes my breath away at times and sometimes leaves me weeping as I travel my last bus journey of the day, unnerved and angered by yet another example of burocrasy (sp) in a care system that seems to have lost all touch with what it means to care. Too many decisions are being made on cost basis with no thought to the price paid in loss of simple humanity. And if that sounds a little over dramatic I make no apology. Sometimes I think about quitting, I can’t because I care. At the same time I realise parents such as Mark and support workers/carers who really care are used to prop up and top up a sector of social provision that would fail completely without us and all those like us. Depressing really.
      That’s why your last post Mark was so important. It is good to share the highs. They are few but wondrous when they happen

  6. sorry, that should say “silly”!

Leave a Reply

