Skip to content

Lessons Learned

September 19, 2015

Here’s a conversation (announcement) from Steven from earlier this afternoon:

“Don’t drop your bag on the muddy grass.

You’ll make your bag all dirty.

Have to put your bag in the washing machine

Are you going to be a ninckenpoop all your life?

You can drop your bag on the carpet in the hall but you can’t drop your bag on the muddy grass”.

An invaluable life lesson learned.

I’ve no idea when Steven learned this lesson. Or who taught him the lesson. He could have remembered this conversation from any time over the past twenty five years.

But I think the field of potential teachers can be reduced because of the use of the word “ninckenpoop”. Who uses a word like that these days, whether as a joke or in seriousness? It can’t be any of the current support workers. They are all African and I don’t think ninckenpoop is in their vocabulary. I don’t think it was me. I love it when Steven comes out with phrases like “Gordon Bennett” and “Steven Neary’s been a soppy old sausage”, I don’t think I would have encouraged ninckenpoop.

My guess is that it was a classroom assistant. I don’t have anyone in particular in mind but Steven absorbs everything. His hard drive is packed with things people have said to him at various points in his history. Back then, he would have heard the words and stored them. Later, he would have tried to make sense of them. And now, he is announcing the lessons he’s learned from these chance encounters and taking it upon himself to teach others (me, the support workers, Uncle Wayne) these important lessons.

One thing I do know is that I trust Steven when he states he ahs learned a lesson much much much more than I do then when I hear a Public body trot out a “lessons learned, processes reviewed, blah, blah, blah” statement.

From → Social Care

2 Comments
  1. Sally permalink

    What a horrible thing to say to Steven.
    it makes one feel so helpless when the awful phrase come up and it could have happened yesterday, it probably happened years ago, and all that time the hurtful words have been etched in your child’s mind and you haven’t known.
    My son mumbling in passing:”everybody here hates you”. When? The school he was at five years ago.
    You are right, ithis is the opposite of the “lessons learned” we all get to hear about.

  2. emily permalink

    Sally your point is so valid. I am sure Max, my son, is a sponge absorbing these words and working them out ready to use them when the need arises. It could be tomorrow or in 10 years. I often forget that he is in the room listening when we talk “about” him. I should be including him in everything. Even at the age of 6 😦

Leave a Reply

