Skip to content

The Move Diary: Days 6 & 7

September 13, 2016

I’m going to whisper this. With all my fingers and toes crossed – Everything seems to be coming along nicely.

Yesterday, the gasman came and we now have hot water and heating. The carpet man came to measure up. And Steven’s social worker arrived like a breath of fresh air. It looks like we may be getting a bath. The OT needs a letter from Steven’s GP explaining why it could be a safeguarding issue but she sounded like she understood. As she was leaving, the social worker asked, “Do you need extra support during the move”? I wasn’t sure what she meant but she agreed (subject to Panel) to increase the Personal Budget for the next three weeks, so I can get cover for the times I’m normally on my own with Steven. Being offered something without having to ask was so unexpected, I had a huge lump in my throat.

Today, we had the fence erected, the plumber sorted out the leak under the sink and the unflushable toilet. And Roy the decorator started work. For someone who seemed to be constantly eating, he got through an awful lot of work for one day. Lots of sealing and a first coat on a couple of the ceilings.

I got back to the flat at 3.30 and immediately started on the phone calls to all the official bodies and services. I’d given myself the rest of today, all day tomorrow and Thursday morning to break the back of them. I’d done the lot by 6pm. Even Talk Talk and their far flung call centre. Even the DWP for crying out load. I had planned to amuse myself by setting up a spreadsheet recording who won the prize for keeping me on hold the longest. I even had a column for the most music tracks that were played whilst on hold. In case you’re interested, the winner was Affinity Water with 7 of The Beatles greatest hits. But in at least four of the calls, I got straight through without even the opening bar of some Toyah Wilcox. Where did all this speedy customer service come from? It’s A Mystery.

The only downside at the moment is that Steven is really struggling. Screaming, holding his head in search of some kind of relief, he is in absolute agony. I popped back home this morning to do the wages and get his CDs ready for tomorrow morning’s disco. He hadn’t gone to his water aerobics – that’s two days running he’s stayed in. The truth is that there is nothing anyone can say or do at the moment that will reassure him. This is Steven’s first big change since coming off the tablets and the anxiety is bound to continue until we move.

As I left the new house earlier, I noticed the smell. For the past week it was the aroma of a million fags, unaired rooms, guinea pigs and unlived lives. Amazing how one coat of paint and a helpful social worker and incredibly loyal support workers can breathe new life into the place.

From → Social Care

4 Comments
  1. Oh my, great to see some things going smoothly! I’ve my fingers crossed for you both and wishing you both the very best.
    I’m sorry Steven is struggling. Oh for a magic wand to make it easier.

  2. brilliant news, fragile brilliant but lovely, some smooth passage is so very welcome . Very best wishes and love to Steven in his unavoidable struggle with the move x

  3. Carole Cliffe permalink

    So glad things are progressing well and Stevens melt down aside in a very favourable and productive way at last. xxxx hope you both turn a corner soon………….. just a thought we do a visual aid book (Tesco 40 page display book) to support and de-escalate my sons predisposition for heightened anxiety and meltdowns at times of change we noted how when the anxiety removes the ability to have a minds eye of things ( its called labelling strategy and was recommended to me by a neuropsychologist) ergo first thing second thing third thing etc. I use power point presentation for speed and go through the sequence of events in his mind eye inserting visual photos and prompts with a short strap line above……….we go through it over and over until he has the order of things fixed in his mind and if the anxiety kicks in again we use it as a point of reference……….works for us to a degree but I appreciate it may not for Steven but potentially may be worth a try x onward and upward xx

  4. Pauline Thomas permalink

    So glad your moving arrangements are at last taking shape.

    So sad that Steven is so stressed. It cannot be easy. I know how drained you and Steven must be feeling during and after these meltdowns I honestly feel so sorry for you and I am willing you to hang on in there and keep the faith. Withdrawal symptoms from antipsychotics are often so awful that people understandably go back on the medication.

    The one consolation you have in all this is that if he was presenting with this behaviour in an ATU, he would now be medicated within an inch of his life and probably looking and acting like a zombie. Medication is the only solution they have in these places.

    Good luck and my very best wishes that you, and especially Steven, weather this stressful time in your lives.

Leave a Reply

