Skip to content

The Clock

December 26, 2016

I wish I could turn back the clock.

To a time that never existed on calendars or in diaries.

A vague time. An imprecise time.

A time before adult services & personalisation & personal budgets.

A time before capacity and public guardians.

A time when a new Proclaimers DVD didn’t appear on a balancing sheet to be scrutinized for financial abuse.

I wish I could turn back the clock.

To a time when you didn’t live in fear.

To a time when Christmas wasn’t ruined because you feared being taken away.

To a time when you trusted the world to stand by you.

I wish I could turn back the clock.

To a time when I wasn’t watching the clock.

And waiting for it to hit the hour so I can get a break.

I wish I could turn back the clock.

To a time before medication and a healthy liver.

To a time before you were forced to share a room with damp.

To a time when the neighbours understood & liked you.

I wish I could turn back the clock.

To a day before choice and independence.

To a day when you had choice and independence.

And nobody noticed or used it to disrespect you.

I wish I could turn back the clock.

But I can’t Son.

So let’s face the new year with love, belief and balls.

Those three angels in your DNA that teach me everyday.

The lesson of how to live a life with courage & humour.

And honesty and straight forwardness.

I dont want to turn back the clock really.

Happy New Year Son.

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. Powerful and poignant.

  2. weary mother permalink

    To the very core Mark xx

    As always.

    Wishing a happy healthy year for you – and for all our very brilliant and unique sons and daughters.

  3. Pauline Thomas permalink

    I second that Weary Mother.

  4. Betty Fisher permalink

    Can I join you?

  5. Frannie permalink

    So true so powerful

  6. swanarchie07 permalink

    So true x happy new year mark and Stephen xx

Leave a Reply

