Skip to content

The Approved Support Providers List

April 5, 2017

Another day. Another social care “choice and flexibility” scam.

Yesterday, I received the minutes of the latest local “Carer Experience Forum”. This is the regular gathering, organised by the council, where carers are invited to be told about the council’s latest wheeze to make the carers life better. This time it looks like only one item was on the agenda – the launch of the Approved Support Providers iniative.

A bit of background. For many years the council have awarded a contract to a local disability charity to provide support with all things direct payments. The council refuse to offer any advice or help on direct payments – they just signpost you to the charity. The council are excellent at not giving support. When I agreed to take on a Personal Budget, they diligently refused to answer any of my questions which left me feeling like I was on a major motorway with neither a car or a map.

However, I love our local charity. They found us our first support worker 15 years ago and he’s still with us. They spent hours with me at the start of the personal budget, teaching me how to run a payroll. Last year, I had a mental block over the tax return and they came round and held my hand as I sorted it out. Just last week they helped me as I was trying to organise self employed contracts for all the support workers.

The contract expires in July and the council have decided that the carers need more choice and flexibility in how they get their direct payment support. The council won’t be renewing the contract with DASH: in fact they won’t be awarding a contract to anyone. Instead, they will be issuing every carer with an Approved Support Providers list and the carer can chose a provider from the list and negotiate their own contract with them for whatever support they need. The carer then goes back to the council and tells them what sort of contract they’ve negotiated. The council then decides how much they will contribute towards your contract and allocate a sum of money in your personal budget to cover the cost of your contract with the approved support provider.

At the end of the minutes there is a Q&A and 24 questions are asked. Most of the questions are along the lines of: “I’m happy with DASH. Why do I have to change?” or, “Why can’t you do this for us?” Every question is met with the same robotic answer – “This is about the budget holder having more choice and flexibility in the most cost effective way for the council”.

Whilst reading the minutes, I truly felt the attendees pain and bemusement. Yet another burden in the name of choice and flexibility. As much as I like DASH, I couldn’t give a monkeys who provides the support but I don’t want to waste any more precious energy finding and negotiating that support myself. Just provide the fucking support and I’ll take what’s offered. You can call it choice and flexibility but really it’s about desperate penny pinching. And the end result is that the personal budget holder has gained another outsourcing maze to add to the many others he has to navigate in the name of Personalisation.

My immediate reaction is to go, “Sod it. I haven’t the time or inclination to go support provider negotiating, I’ll go without”. I’m sure lots of other carers will think and do the same.

And that’s precisely what the council want you to do.

Personal Budgets are totally inaccessible for many learning disabled people who haven’t got a carer to manage it for them. This new choice and flexible scheme is another nail in the coffin of accessibility.

From → Social Care

4 Comments
  1. LizzzieD permalink

    Why does it have to be such a post code lottery? I am not far from you, but have no idea what service my council provides – if any. As you say, “choice” is the last thing you want. I got a list of care providers – a very long list of burgeoning agencies, most of which seem to be operated for the benefit of them, not me.

    My daughter has carers who stay a long time as well – but that makes the thought of them leaving even more terrifying.

    We have had some lovely carers – and the odd nightmare temporary replacement. I am fairly sure that there are good people out there willing to do this – but how to find them? They need work, we need carers, and it ain’t rocket science to come up with a system that would work. I am sick of reading of the “crisis in care” and seeing jobs advertised for “co-ordinators” and managers. What, exactly are they managing other than contracts for agencies? You have found a good one – wish I had. I got to figure out on my own. Now, presumably, the managers need a cheaper, more competitive system.

    Like you, I have kept this ball in the air for a long time – through gritted teeth. Your post about “What happens when I cant do it” filled me with the usual terror.

    Has anybody got any answers to this

  2. Sally permalink

    Yelling in recognition and sympathy over here!
    One of the most repulsive aspects of dealing with services is being offered alternative facts. I have encountered this so often in the last two years,. Goes like this:
    A change is announced which will remove what works and dump hours of stress and inconvenience on Carers while further lessening any Council responsibilities. It is presented as a wonderful gift for Carers and a response to us all eagerly clamouring to replace the old system.
    The Council are seldom required to justify their assertion that Carers have been begging for the proposed changes. They are not asked to produce statistical evidence.
    We all attend consultation meetings and politely disagree that such changes are wanted. We are again told the changes are wonderful and what we asked for and our objections are baseless. There is nothing we can say which will stop the changes; the meeting is purely to say that a consultation has been held . What sort of a consultation is it when we are not allowed to say no?

    i think we need to start shouting at those meetings. Shout, lie on the floor, shriek “Stop lying and listen!!”I Involve the media. Throw cream cakes. Polite injections are just noted and ignored.Sometimes with empty empathy: “We understand you are challenged by this change but when you come to see how great it is you will thank us”
    Mark ,you are so right. We do not want to run a business. We do not want to worry about tax ,payroll tendering staffing etc etc, We want the damn help and support.The business model is disgusting. Who would accept arranging their medical care in this way?

  3. simone aspis permalink

    Mark great you love your local Disabled Peoples Lead Organisation –

  4. simone aspis permalink

    How does this approved support providers list work – I can only assume that if DSAH’s contract comes to an end in July that they will not be in a position to provide any service for carers to choose from. They will have to make staff redundant or take a heafy risk and continue providing PD and DP services in hope of getting the funding from the carers picking DASH.

Leave a Reply

