Skip to content

The Hustings

June 7, 2017

What shall I write about the day before we vote?

Shall I write about Mrs May’s latest U-turn and her desperate announcement about ripping up the Human Rights Act?

https://www.liberty-human-rights.org.uk/news/press-releases-and-statements/prime-minister-risks-handing-terrorists-their-greatest-victory

Or shall I write about the latest care home abuse scandal reported today, with horrific echoes of Winterbourne? Needless to say, Harold and Hilda echo their usual voice of the voiceless mush:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-devon-40188948

Or shall I write about “UK’s leading mental health charity” St Andrew’s latest award. This time they win the “Complex Care Provider” gong at the Health Investors Awards 2017. Probably self nominated. And a trophy which perpetuates their myth that their services are necessary because of the complex needs of their patients:

https://www.standrewshealthcare.co.uk/who-we-are/latest-news/st-andrews-healthcare-wins-major-uk-healthcare-award/

Or shall I write about the Huntercombe Group? Another private learning disability in patient provision (43 sites). Their core value is “to nurture the world. One person at a time”. Sadly, in cases we’ve been learning about for the next 7 Days of Action campaign, their “nurturing” can take 16 years of detention to accomplish.

http://huntercombe.com/about-us/

I don’t think I’ll write about any of that. I’ll just share a conversation I had with Steven earlier”

“Dad. Are you happy we’ve got a massive pool in the Cowley house garden? Yes or No”?

In case you’re thinking that Steven is empathically asking my opinion, you’d be wrong. He’s telling me what he wants me to ask him.

“Steve. Are you happy we’ve got a massive pool in the Cowley house garden? Yes or No”?

“Yes. Steven Neary is happy in his head and his feet”.

By the way, in Steven’s collection of lookalikes, he reckons that Mrs May looks like Cruella DeVille, whilst Mr Corbyn looks like Michael Caine in Educating Rita.

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. shirley buckley permalink

    My aim in life is now to be happy in my feet

  2. ‘Mr Corbyn looks like Michael Caine in Educating Rita.’

    So he does!

  3. How lovely your film was – Steven’s got a really cute, innocent voice. It sounds pure. I had instant tears in my eyes listening to you both. And that nice careworker.
    You sound so kind. How could anyone be horrible to you both?
    I wish you were my neighbours.

    If only we could all hear each other, and not just read. Thank you for letting us glimpse into your life.

  4. simone aspis permalink

    where is the juicy link?

    • A friend sent it to me, but I can’t put it on here. I think Mark’s going to do that.

  5. simone aspis permalink

    u can always send me the juicy link privately via my ALLFIE email address!

Leave a Reply

